got cards?

At my house the old saying, “when it rains, it pours,” applies to many things; even to cards!  We are blessed to have very full household and when there’s one birthday, there’s usually 2 or more; there are teachers and friends to make notes for, etc. ,etc.  So my supply of cards to have on hand dwindles all at once sometimes and that’s where I’m at. I came across a fellow consultant (Laila Harris) who made 10 quick cards using one of the current CTMH papers that I really like, Ivy Lane, so I thought I’d post pictures of the process to create my card stash. If you would like to have this, I  have kits put together for you to create your quick stash, too!

First off here are the two 6″x12″ sheets of heavy cardstock stickers (Ivy Lane Stickease) that coordinate with the Ivy Lane paper. My cards won’t use all of them so I’ll have some for more cards later. You can see the different sizes and styles that I have to play with – nice, right?

SAM_2893 SAM_2894 SAM_2895 SAM_2896 SAM_2897

Just a quick reminder or tip for you cardmakers. when you get the pre-cut cards from your favorite craft store, remember to fold your cards in half in the opposite direction from the “valley” created by the score line in order to get a nice, even folded card:

see the score line with the indentation (valley)

See the score line with the indentation (valley)

 

Do not fold your card  into the "valley"

Do not fold your card into the “valley”

Fold your card the opposite way from the indentation, like a "mountain"

Fold your card the opposite way from the indentation, like a “mountain”

Now having all my little pieces cut out, I assemble them into piles with all the correct pieces for each card.

SAM_2884 SAM_2883

SAM_2882 SAM_2885

Since I wanted to stamp the sentiments on them before assembling, I went through my stash and came up with a few I liked. If you’ve seen my stash of stamps, you know that might have a taken a little bit of time 🙂  Well, I decided to give you a sneak peek into some of the newest stamps being released in August with our new Idea Book and some that are still available for purchase. SO now that I know which stamps I want to use, then I follow the pictures for placements of the pieces on the cards and before you know it I have 10 beautiful cards!

Upper stamps are brand new! Middle stamp set is July SOTM. Bottom left coordinates with Ivy Lane; mid bottom is Monogram T; bottom right is a retiring set (get it while you can) "Words of Comfort"

Upper stamps are brand new! Middle stamp set is July SOTM. Bottom left coordinates with Ivy Lane; mid bottom is Monogram T; bottom right is a retiring set (get it while you can) “Words of Comfort”

SAM_2890     SAM_2892

SAM_2900 SAM_2903 SAM_2902 SAM_2901

Of course, they look like they could use a little something … mmm .. what could that be … why, “bling,” of course, hahaha!!

SAM_2904

So we add a few of these sparkly purple glitter gems to add some detail and, voilà, now the cards are complete! They turned out quite pretty don’t you think?

SAM_2905

Lastly, my fellow consultant, Laila, also decorated one of our newest white, blank chipboard boxes to house the cards perfectly, especially if you wanted to give them as a gift. She created a file using the Cricut Craft Room (free software to cut designs with your Cricut machines) which made it super fast to cut perfectly sized pieces:

Blank Journaling Card box holds 10 standard cards and envelopes or a complete Picture My Life card set

Blank Journaling Card box holds 10 standard cards and envelopes or a complete Picture My Life card set

Ivy Lane card holder using the PML Journaling Card box!

Ivy Lane card holder using the PML Journaling Card box!

I’ll be working that up tomorrow. Hope you enjoyed seeing the process and again if you are interested in getting the card kit with precut pieces and pictures, just leave a comment here or email me!

Signature for WP blog

 

2 thoughts on “got cards?

  1. Debbie – I would be interested in that card kit and purchasing a couple of the card boxes as well. I also need to get a couple of pairs of snips. Please let me know costs of these items. Kelcey

Leave a Reply

